In wilderness I sense the miracle of life, and behind it our scientific accomplishments fade to trivia – Charles A. Lindbergh

unit8_05

This post is a shout out to my parents, mainly my mother. Now as I understand, camping is not everyones idea of good time. Hiking out 5 miles into bear country with nothing but your voice and a can of bear spray to protect you is a little daunting. Even more so when you don’t actually know where it is you’re going and what you’ll find when you get there, but I’m here to tell you it’s not so bad and it can actually be a lot of fun. While I didn’t do anything to this caliber growing up my parents did equip me with the knowledge and skills to to get me here. Whether it was going car camping with the parents for the weekend, or my mom teaching my Girl Scout troop to always leave  a place better than you found it, or dishing out the cash so I could go with my venture crew for a week canoeing and camping in Sylvania Wilderness, I owe a lot of who I am to them.

So, thanks Mom.

unit8_06

View from our tent.

unit8_04

unit8_03

unit8_02

unit8_01

unit8_08

unit8_07

One thought on “In wilderness I sense the miracle of life, and behind it our scientific accomplishments fade to trivia – Charles A. Lindbergh

  1. Katie your subject and photography are BEAUTIFUL. Your mom has taught me so much as well. Happy birthday to her!
    Love, Aunt Eileen

Leave a Reply

