Her spiritual needs were fulfilled where the sky, the stars, the woods and lake became a cathedral. – Justine Kerfoot

“Her spiritual needs were fulfilled where the sky, the stars, the woods and lake became a cathedral. Helping neighbors in time of need replaced giving alms. The wind whispering or whipping through the trees, rain and lightning, and the thunder echoing from one cliff to another, the crashing of waves against a rocky shore or the lengthening shadows on a still evening – all these replaced the words of a preacher from a pulpit. This philsophy slowly became part of me too.” -Justine Kerfoot, Woman of the Boundary Waters

I’ll be honest. When I first got here I didn’t get the big deal about Denali (the mountain, not the park). Sure, even from a distance, I could tell it stood taller than the rest. I learned about the challenges climbers had to face in order to reach the summit and how few ever actually made it. But still I was never in wowed by it, until I saw it like this. I stood on the hillside looking at that mountain in awe. I get it now. That is one impressive mountain.

The MountainThe mountain.

5.26_03

Not a bad place for lunch.

5.26_06

An arctic ground squirrel.

5.26_04

5.26_02

5.26_01

babymoose

A mama moose with her twin calves.

babymoose

Friday I hiked up to the erratics with a few friends. It was my favorite hike thus far at Denali. The erratics can actually be seen from the visitor center. They are giant boulders, the size of houses, that were left on top of the mountain by glaciers.

5.30_01

5.30_03

5.30_02

5.30_07

5.30_04

5.30_06

5.30_05

 

Leave a Reply

