Heaven is under our feet as well as over our heads- Henry David Thoreau

This past week and next week I’ll be in interpretative training and learning a lot about the park and it’s visitors. One of the sessions that really struck home with me was a TED Talk video we watched. Ben Saunders, a polar explorer, attempts to answer at the question “Why Bother Leaving the House?“. In a world where you can learn about practically anything in the world wide web, why do you need to go outside? Why would you go freeze your ass off in Antarctica, when you can watch videos on youtube of penguins sliding off icebergs into the ocean? Why spend hundreds to thousands of dollars to travel to Denali just to get eaten alive by mosquitos when you can see all the animals and scenery through my photos and those of countless other photographers? If there is one thing I hope to accomplish with my photography, it is that I want people to get out in the world. I want people to look at my photos and think, “I want to go there. I want to experience that for myself.”  While I obviously hope my photos evoke an emotion from you, it can’t replace the emotion you get from being there. From the heart pounding moment you hear the thunderous crack of a glacier calving for the first time to the sense of wonder standing under an aurora lit sky, there are moments that technology can’t capture and that words can never truly express.

eclipse_04

The full moon rising before the lunar eclipse.

Eclipse_01

A “Blood Moon”

week3_03

week3_07

A ptarmigan

week3_08

week3_06

week3_01

The remnants of a sheep kill.

One thought on “Heaven is under our feet as well as over our heads- Henry David Thoreau

Leave a Reply

